Friday, November 16, 2018

She Lies in Wait by By Gytha Lodge

This is the debut of DCI Jonas Sheena series. 

The story opens up with a father and son stumbling across the scattered bones near a campsite during their camping trip.

A detective is called onto this case which was discovered to be a cold case of a missing 14-year-old girl who vanished in 1983. After the confirmation of the DNA, the fact is reopened.

The novel alternates between 1983 and the present in each chapter.  Over 30 years ago is when a group of friends gets together for fun at the campsite.  The 14-year-old girl, Aurora Jackson is the youngest of the group. She happened to tag along with her older sister, Topaz who is jealous of and resents her.  The present consists of a group of friends who have stayed close together for more than 30 years according to one of the detectives who had gone to school them and remembered of the story of missing Aurora and the DCIs interviewing everyone and the alibi trying to break open the case.

This is the trial of real friendships, perspectives, drugs, drinking, loyalty, friendships, betrayal, and who's the actual killer.

It is a somber and haunting thriller novel of a murdered intelligent 14-year-old girl who had a full life ahead of her whose life cut too soon.
It was exciting, but it's something I won't remember easily in the future.  The only thing that annoys me is how DCI Sheena acts like a teenager when her ex harrases her over the phone and actually verbally and emotionally abuses her via texts too.  The way this supposedly intelligent, quick-witted and hard working detective is portrayed as a weak woman like that. I'm having a hard time with that.

Three stars overall.

I received this ARC through Random House Publishing Group through Net Galley for my honest and unbiased review. Thank you.

No comments:

Post a Comment